Bold Breakthrough for Pop Recording Artist Side FX

Bold Breakthrough for Pop Recording Artist Side FX

Fyé : France | Aug 08, 2011 at 2:00 AM PDT
Source: PRWeb
Views: Pending

August 08, 2011

The indie pop band Side FX, based out of Washington, D.C., has just scored a major distribution deal with Audio Fidelity for their newest EP release, “The Blond Side.” Hitting stores Aug 24, the EP will land in FYE, Best Buy, J&R Music, Coconuts, and Sam Goody among others across the country. The EP will also cross the pond with distributions in Europe, as well as, Asia.

“This album has been exciting to write and record. It really has all of me in each and every song,” says lead singer and Side FX songwriter Kim Cameron. A natural blond herself, she titled the EP.

Cameron's sultry voice and innovative pop vocal styling’s combine with the band's latest experimental sounds and rhythms on the new EP. It features seven original songs by Cameron that musically explore the edge of pop music in the 21st Century. Cameron's lyrics tell stories gleaned from real life, adding freshness to the story-telling material she is fast becoming famous for.

Side FX is one of the first true indie bands to have toured across America, published three of their own albums, and landed a major distribution deal – all while establishing themselves on the coveted Top 40 and AC charts this year. According to Richie Cannata, the band's producer, who owns New York’s famous Cove City Sound Studios (Beach Boys, Billy Joel), this latest breakthrough comes as no surprise, considering the band's talent.

“There is just no one like Kim Cameron,” says Cannata. “Kim is a unique artist with a style of writing and singing in keeping with the freshest and newest music today.”

Cannata says he's been thrilled with the EP's songs, such as the dance pop mix “A Dance” about a chance meeting and love at first sight. The EP also includes a luxurious sounding lyrical story about surfers who dream of catching that one great wave in the song “Paradise,” and a hard-driving tribute to the perseverance of the Japanese people after this year's tsunami in the “petal” (pop infused metal) song “We Will Never Fall Down.”

The two newest songs on the EP were written this summer: A Euro-pop infused song reminiscent of JLo’s “On the Floor” with sprinkles of Kesha sounds. This track, titled “3 Seconds,” was produced and co-written by David Grow (Jim Brickman, Hillary Scott). The new centerline pop song “My Face is Shining,” with its hooky romantic lines, will be debuted on the EP. Side FX also slides in a bonus remix track of “Sexy Smile” with New Jersey rapper D’Nero.

The EP’s launch will begin on Side FX's Hopeful Hearts Tour, sponsored by the Cowgirls-Git-R-Dun Corp., a non-profit helping to raise funds for assistance to homeless military veterans, among other causes. That tour, which Side FX headlines in collaboration with Cowgirls' planned fundraiser, kicks off in Daytona, Fla., Oct. 8. Together, thousands of bikers across the country will raise money to support the cause of homeless veterans, which happens to be one near and dear to Cameron's heart.

The official EP release party will take place in Side FX's hometown of Washington, D.C. on Sept.15 at the renowned Dizzy Gillespie founded jazz club, Blues Alley.

“Blues Alley was our first national venue when we released our album 'Contradictions' in 2008, so it made sense to take this super, high-energy EP back to our beginnings at Blues,” explains Cameron.

Two of the songs on the EP landed on the charts this year: “A Dance,” which landed at #31 on Billboard's Adult Top 40 (R&R); and “Paradise” which also hit the #31 (Mediabase) slot in the Adult Contemporary market. The song “Sexy Smile” (producer Jazayeri of Garage), hit #103 on Adult Top 40 last fall.

For more information and tour dates for Kim Cameron and Side FX, visit or

# # #

For the original version on PRWeb visit:

  • Clear
  • Share:
  • Share
  • Clear
  • Clear
  • Clear
  • Clear
  • Credibility
  • Wait... Flag

More From Allvoices

Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use Agreement and Privacy Policy.

© Allvoices, Inc. 2008-2014. All rights reserved. Powered by PulsePoint.