London Marathon 2013 Live: Results, winners and highlights

London Marathon 2013 Live: Results, winners and highlights

London : United Kingdom | Apr 21, 2013 at 1:46 AM PDT
Views: Pending
Kabede wins

The 2013 London Marathon is set to start today Sunday starting from 8.30am BST, live on BBC. Britain's Olympic gold medallist Mo Farah is leading the 26.2 mile course with as many as 50,000 road-side spectators are expected for a race that drew nearly 40,000 registered runners last year. Check this page later for London Marathon 2013 results of winners and highlights.

The deadly Boston Marathon bombings last week has elevated security for runners and spectators of the London marathon as directed by sports minister Hugh Robertson. The Scotland Yard of London police has confirmed a 40 percent increase in security forces at the event including installation of CCTV cameras specially in the finish line area.

In addition, the organisers of the London Marathon will reportedly donate £2 for every runner who cross the finish line as a gesture of support for the Boston Marathon victims. There will be a 30-second period of silence at the start of the race on Sunday. "I think this is one of those incidents where the best way to show solidarity with Boston is to continue and send a very clear message to those responsible," the minister stressed on BBC Radio.

The 2012 professional events - the Elite races ­- were won by the Kenyan duo of Wilson Kipsang Kiprotich (men's) and Mary Keitany (women's). In fact, the Kenyans were utterly dominant last year, with Martin Lel finishing second in the men's race and the top five places in the women's race all going to Kenyan runners.

This year, Wilson Kipsang of Kenya will defend his title against Uganda's Stephen Kiprotich who was the gold medallist at the London Olympics 2012) and another Kenyan Patrick Makau, who holds the marathon world record.

The women's entry list is star-studded as well with the participation of gold medallist at the London Olympics 2012, Ethiopia's Tiki Gelana and Kenyan Priscah Jeptoo who is silver medallist at the London Olympics. The 2011 World Champion Edna Kiplagat of Kenya will also join the event. Mary Keitany won London Marathon with smashing world record in clocking at 2:18:37. Check this page later for London Marathon 2013 results of winners and highlights.

Men's top 10 results 1. KEBEDE, Tsegaye (ETH) - 02:06:04 2. MUTAI, Emmanuel (KEN) - 02:06:33 3. ABSHERO, Ayele (ETH) - 02:06:57 4. LILESA, Feyisa (ETH) - 02:07:46 5. KIPSANG, Wilson (KEN) - 02:07:47 6. KIPROTICH, Stephen (UGA) - 02:08:05 7. ASMEROM, Yared (ERI) - 02:08:22 8. BIWOTT, Stanley (KEN) - 02:08:39 9. CHANI, Hafid (MAR) - 02:09:11 10. LAMDASSEM, Ayad (ESP) - 02:09:28

Womens Top 10 results 1. JEPTOO, Priscah (KEN) - 02:20:15 2. KIPLAGAT, Edna (KEN) - 02:21:32 3. AKABA, Yukiko (JPN) - 02:24:43 4. BAYSA, Atsede (ETH) - 02:25:14 5. MELKAMU, Meselech (ETH) - 02:25:46 6. KIPLAGAT, Florence (KEN) - 02:27:05 7. ITO, Mai (JPN) - 02:28:37 8. BIKTIMIROVA, Alevtina (RUS) - 02:30:02 9. PARTRIDGE, Susan (GBR) - 02:30:46 10. VAN ZYL, Irvette (RSA) - 02:31:26

1 of 31
Kebede of Ethopia wins London Marathon 2013.
richwebnews is based in San Francisco, California, United States of America, and is an Anchor on Allvoices.
Report Credibility
  • Clear
  • Share:
  • Share
  • Clear
  • Clear
  • Clear
  • Clear

News Stories






More From Allvoices

Related People

Report Your News Got a similar story?
Add it to the network!

Or add related content to this report

Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use Agreement and Privacy Policy.

© Allvoices, Inc. 2008-2014. All rights reserved. Powered by PulsePoint.