2012 Americana Music Award Winners

2012 Americana Music Award Winners

Nashville : TN : USA | Sep 23, 2012 at 11:44 PM PDT
Views: Pending

On September 12 the Americana Music Association honoured the best in Americana. Americana music is described as any music whose roots and traditions stem from American roots music – music inspired by American culture.

The Americana Awards recipients included three living legends who received Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The 2012 Americana Music Awards were hosted by Jim Lauderdale and held at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

With only 10 award presentations, the night was filled with performances from Booker T. Jones, Richard Thmpson, Buddy Miller, Larry Campbell, Darrell Scott, Kenny Vaughn, Guy Clark, Alabama Shakes, Bonnie Raitt, John Hiatt, Al Anderson Vincent, Amy Helm, Teresa Williams, and Emmylou Harris.

Winners of the 2012 Americana Music Awards are:
Artist of the Year: Gillian Welch
Duo or Group of the Year: The Civil Wars
Instrumentalist of the Year: Dave Rawlings
Album of the Year: “This One’s for Him: A Tribute to Guy Clark”

Song of the Year: “Alabama Pines” by Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
Emerging Artist of the Year: Alabama Shakes

Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance:Bonnie Raitt
Lifetime Achievement Award for an Instrumentalist: Booker T. Jones
Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting: Richard Thompson
Lifetime Achievement Award for an Executive: Dennis Lord

1 of 1
Richard Isbell's Americana
Richard Isbell's Americana
From: nagraph
Sherrill Fulghum is based in Niagara Falls, New York, United States of America, and is an Anchor on Allvoices.
Report Credibility
  • Clear
  • Share:
  • Share
  • Clear
  • Clear
  • Clear
  • Clear



More From Allvoices

Related People

Report Your News Got a similar story?
Add it to the network!

Or add related content to this report

Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use Agreement and Privacy Policy.

© Allvoices, Inc. 2008-2014. All rights reserved. Powered by PulsePoint.